Why Self-Respect Is So Important

Since next week Wednesday will be my wellness roundup post the for the month, it’s bittersweet for me to say that this will potentially be the last Wellness Wednesday focus. This does not mean I’m giving up blogging, I”m just still uncertain about my focus for the blog in 2022. What I know for certain is there is a good chance that I will not be posting twice per week next year. Furthermore, this time last year I knew that I wanted to provide a weekly self-care challenge on Sundays and a weekly wellness focus on Wednesdays. I have no plans like that for next year I just know that I don’t want to keep doing the same thing that I’ve been doing for the past year.

With the said, let’s move into the topic discussion for the week. Unless you have a good grasp on it, self-respect can be some what of a challenge to obtain and trying to cultivate this feature can sometimes cause our voice to shake if we’re trying to stand up for ourselves, it can cause us to be fearful and scared when making the choice to do what’s best for us, and it can feel like we’re not making the right decision if making a choice can cause us to lose someone who we love. Self-respect may not come easy but it’s absolutely necessary. Here are some of the reasons why I think self-respect is really important.

It’s an act of self-love there is no greater love. I’ve mentioned self-love many times in some of my blog post throughout the year. When we love ourselves we automatically attract the right people in our lives and if they aren’t the right ones, we know it and it’s usually easy for us to walk away. Additionally, the right person not only values the respect you have for yourself, they encourage it.

It means you’re being seen and heard a few of the most important factors in life for all beings is feeling seen, heard, and valued. One of the main ingredients of self-respect is the ability to stand up for yourself—this might mean saying no, doing what’s best for you, making a decision that some people may not like, and choosing to walk away from something or someone who does not serve your overall well-being. Being able to do any of these things says a lot about the amount of respect you have for yourself.

It means knowing your worth I really love the saying “know your worth and then add tax.” To me, that’s the ultimate sign of self-respect. It means you won’t settle for anything less and you know exactly what you bring to the table. While this might not mean walking away from things don’t serve you and your purpose, it does mean you won’t settle for anything less than what you’re worth.

I’m sure there are a lot more that can be added to this list but I like to provide the foundation for my Wellness Wednesday focus in my blogs. I like to think that my readers are individuals who might be in the process of trying to find their way or themselves and sometimes it’s helpful when the information that’s provided is easy to navigate and understand. I personally hate reading articles that are long and drawn out before they get to the point. I feel like that’s what books are for lol. Articles and blogs are created for convenience so it’s nice when I can skim (or read) the article or blog post quickly and get exactly what I need. I hope this and my other blog post has gifted you that form of convenience.

Let’s Chat! 

Follow Me:

  • Instagram: @selfcareatforty
  • Twitter: @playingblogger
  • Pinterest: @tam33ks

Published by tam33ks

I have a long history with mental illness. Overcoming depression made me realize my own resilience. It also made it clear that I wasn’t taking care of myself. I believe that in order for us to fully engage with ourselves and others we have to make time for self-love through our self-care habits. My goal with this blog is to encourage women in my age group to make time for self-care daily.

One thought on “Why Self-Respect Is So Important

Leave a comment